Thank you to everyone who made the 2013 Annual Consumer Conference a great success!

Click the menu links to the left to view information and materials from the conference.

NIHB - 2013 Annual Consumer Conference
August 26 - 29, 2013

Award Winners

Local Impact Awards

  • Ruth Bussay, Health Director, Grand Traverse Band of Ottawa and Chippewa Indians
  • Liz Lara-O’Rourke, Health Promotion and Education Manager Strategic Plan Communications Coordinator, United Indian Health Services, Inc.
  • Dr. Leland Leonard, CEO, Ft. Defiance Indian Health Board
  • Reno-Sparks Indian Colony Tribal Health Center
  • Angela Young, Administrative Director, Urban Inter-Tribal Center of Texas

Area/Regional Impact Awards

  • Sherri Anderson, Patient Advocate, Norton Sound Health Corporation
  • Assemblyman We Chesbro, 2nd District of California
  • Dr. Katherine Gottlieb, CEO, Southcentral Foundation
  • Ramin Naderi, Community Wellness and Outreach Director, Indian health Center of Santa Clara
  • Sally N. Pete, CEO, Winslow Indian Health Care Center
  • Dr. Terry Simpson, M.D. Surgeon, Alaska Native Medical Center, Southcentral Foundation
  • Balla Sobocianski, Executive Administrative Specialist, Norton Sound Health Corporation
  • Dr. Rodney Stapp, CEO, Urban Inter-Tribal Center of Texas
  • Jan Vasquez, Community Wellness and Outreach Director, Indian Health Center of Santa Clara
  • Angela Wilson, Director, Reno-Sparks Tribal Health Center
  • Ayn Whyte, Program Manager, Albuquerque Area Indian Health Board
  • Yellowhawk Tribal Health Center

National Impact Awards

  • Lincoln Bean, Sr., Chairman of Board of Directors, Alaska Native Health Board
  • Valerie Davidson, JD, Senior Director of Intergovernmental and Legal Affairs, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
  • Cyndi Gillaspie, Technical Director, Consortium of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Congressman Dale Kildee (retired)
  • Gary Hayes, Chairman-Elect/Vice-Chairman, Ute Mountain Ute
  • Tyra Wittenborn, Project Manager, Kauffman and Associates, Inc.

John Pipe Voices for Change Awards

  • Advocacy Award: Fond du Lac Reservation, Cloquet, MN
  • Outcomes Award: Native American Rehabilitation Association Diabetes Treatment and Prevention Program, Portland, OR
  • Innovation Award: Diabetes Prevention and Control Program, Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital, Barrow, AK

Youth Award

  • Sammy Gensaw, President, Klamath River Early College of Redwoods Student Council

Jake White Crow Award

  • Michael Zacharof

National Indian Health Board
50 F St NW, Suite 600 | Washington, DC 20001 | Phone: 202-507-4070 | Email: [email protected]